1" Nordenfeld

I picked up this Nordenfeld dummy (actually fired case & bullet) recently. How far (millimeters) should the brass section of the projectile stick out from the case? Also a question about the headstamp? Does the E refer to Eley? How does a Mark I cartridge differ from other marks?

1 Like

A nice cartridge.
It seems to.be a Mk1 aiming rifle case with a Nordenfelt projectile. Wrong projectile.
Yes made by Eley with percussion primer.

Hi Ron, thank you for the information, as I am a complete novice. On what do you base your opinion? As far as I know the two cases has the same dimensions. Is it the maker, the date or the mark? Or the missing stab marks to keep the projectile in place?

The aiming rifle was loaded with a lead bullet. The case is marked as such & that is an AP Nordenfelt bullet as Ron states.

Although considered by many as AP, they’re actually Ball. It’s a most frustrating situation in the UK, as most Police Forces treat them as AP which has meant that our collection of Nordenfelt rounds and projectiles, notwithstanding they are inert, have to be held on a Sec. 5 Licence.

2 Likes

Good to know these are ball, Just shows you how things can get shifted & wrongs repeated through time.

Here is some documentation from P.Labbett excellent book “British S.A. Ammunition.
1864-1938”. Tells you all about the Aiming Rifle 1" Percussion Mk1.

2 Likes

Hi Ron, Tim & Pete, thank you for your expertise and information. Really appreciate it. Now I am only left wondering how the projectile and the case became a couple.

It fitted the case so was inserted by mistake by some collector/person.
Keep the projectile as it fits the Mks 1V, V & V1 Nordenfelt cases which will have the marks in the headstamps to identify them. Find a case and you have two nice rounds then.
You could also make a cast projectile and put a paper patch around it to fit your aiming rifle case till you find a real projectile. It would be easily identified as a reproduction projectile.