12.7x99 question

I grabbed several WWII 1942-1944 .50 BMG unfired blanks at the last Allentown,PA gun show because at $1 it looked cheap. How ubiquitous are unfired blanks? I’d surmise they were used heavily for training during Korea and Nam.

I have no experience with the availability of these blanks in the US but I’ve never seen one live (in Europe) or on a picture or so. All blanks I have and have seen are post-WW2.
I would say it’s a nice buy!

Assuming they are original and not reloaded cases, you did well. WWII vintage .50 BMG blanks are not all that common anymore. What does the case mouth seal/crimp look like?

AKMS

How does a reloaded blank look, is it rose-crimped?

Nice cartridges, SKSvlad! I even didn’t know the M1 blank was already in use during WW2.

Thijs–Actually the .50 BMG M1 Blank was standardized from the T1 on 25 May 1939. The development of the T1 started in 1932. This cartridge had a powder charge of 43 grs. of E.C. Blank Powder. Production was halted between May 1942 to March 1944, mostly due to a lack of a good Blank Firing Attachment for the gun. After the development of the T10 Blank Firing Attachment, a new Blank was developed, designated the T40 on 4 July 1944. It is almost identical to the original M1 except it uses 46 grs. of powder. In January 1945 the T40 was redesignated the M1 Blank, Some packaging uses the designation M1 (T40) to identify it from the original M1. Re-used brass was used to make this new M1, so headstamp dates can not be used to ID it. However, any headstamp after 1942 has to be the New M1.

All this information came from “History of Modern U.S. Military Small Arms Ammunition” Vol. 1 & 2.

Was there ever a rose crimped US .50 BMG blank? I have three WW2 US cases with 8 petal rose crimps headstamped R A 42, 4 3 T W and SL 45. I am told these are postwar movie blanks. They also have nickel primers.