.223 Remington vs 5.56 Nato

I would like to know why some say that the .223 Remington and the 5.56 Nato are not the same cartridge? I feel they are just different loadings of the same cartridge. All of the case drawings I have ever seen show no more then about a 0.001" difference in any dimension. Most are the same. Personally I think even these small differences are just the result of the use of different rounding up or down of numbers by SAAMI and the Military. I am a toolmaker by trade and these small amounts really amount to nothing. Even using minimum and maximum tolerances they will both still fall well within the allowed tolerances for either. Yes they maybe loaded to different pressures with different bullet weights but does that really make them different cartridges? I don’t think so.

Zac

The British used three variations of cartridges in some of their rifles. A black powder load, a nitro for BP & a full nitro.
All these had the same case dimensions, just different powders and bullet weights / construction. The were not completely interchangeable. So the pressures, bullet weight and construction do make a difference. With a double rifle both barrels shoot at the same point of impact at a set yardage, so sights are off with different loads. Then you also have the pressures factor, also the guys who went to Africa found higher pressures due to temperature & so the manufacturers developed tropical loads.
The Scottish rifle maker Fraser is well known for using somewhat different loads than the Kynoch or Eley factory ‘standard’, so a ammunition buyer would have to buy his ‘brand’ of ammunition to be able to accurately shoot one of his firearms.
So yes here I’m mostly talking about non-adjustable sights.