228 Wby Mag?

I have been chasing Wby Mag for about 6 years and all of a sudden in COTW 12 edition, it lists a 228 Wby Mag. My first reaction is a misprint? Has anyone seen this cartridge or actually have one? thanks Vic

What page in COTW ? I see 220, and 224 Weatherby, not the 228?
I am familiar with the 224 Weatherby Magnum currently being made today, and there was a 220 Weatherby Rocket Wildcat which was only made as a wildcat from 220 Winchester cases, but not a .228 .
There was a .228 belted Magnum (which maybe confused as a Weatherby) made by Ackley for a special order for R.B. Sisk
see “Wildcat Cartridges, page 99”, Book by Richard Simmons, 1947. Ackley made many different .228 Wildcat cartridges, but to my knowledge Roy Weatherby never did make a .228 cartridge.
Thank you,
Dave Call
ammo-one.com

pg 94 in the obsolete american cartridge section, it seems the 228 Ackley magnum was the original idea .

Wow, new one on me, why this hobby is never ending learning, it does say Roy Weatherby had a 228 Magnum ? Not sure where COTW got the information? looks to be out of an old catalog.
I have about 6 to 8 wildcat books going back to 1947 and not in any of them. It looks like it goes back before 1947?
thanks for the information, we will be looking for more .
Best
Dave Call
www.ammo-one.com

A Google search for the term “228 weatherby magnum” shows 59 results, with the first one at this link:

http://www.reloadbench.com/cartridges/224wm.html

It says that the 228 was Roy’s second cartridge which was made by shortening and necking down the .300 H & H case for the 70 grain, .284" bullets. There is a notation at the bottom of the paragraph that says the Hodgdon data manual, 26th edition is the source for that info.

Seems to be plenty of info in the digital realm, but much of the chatter does say it is an obscure/rare cartridge.