.30 Carb. Steel Case?-US WWII

This was posted on another site in reference to US production of steel-cased .30 Carbine ammunition. I’m thinking it is incorrect, on a number of points, but I’m no expert on US military ammo.

“That Steel case was made during the brass shortage, in order to save brass. None was ever issued for over seas. Very hard on the extractors.”

Comments?

jonnyc

What’s the old adage - very hard to prove a negative. Relatively few of the steel case Cal .30 Carbine cases were manufactured. Maybe less than a million? Many were used up in tests and HWS says half a million were sent to the USMC for testing and training. But, who’s to say that none made it overseas?

Ray

OK, I thought lots were made. Thanks.

What time period are you discussing?
WW2 or the mid 1950s steel case productin?

WWII, I believe.

Jon, this is what Chrysler Corp. wrote in 1946 about the .30 Carbine steel case ammunition development:

"The carbine contract was signed February 27, 1943, though long before this Evansville was converting part of its machinery. At the Advisory Board meeting in Chicago on February 18th it had been revealed that the supplementary contract for .30 carbine cartridges in steel was meeting with resistance among the using arms, where many were unconvinced that steel could be a satisfactory substitute for brass.