.303 inch British "R15 VII"

The headstamp is “R15 VII”, so obviously 1915 Mark VII, but who made it? Do you think it is Royal laboratory, Cartridge Factory 5, Woolwich and is just missing the “L”? Also, why two sets of stab crimps, is it possibly a reload?

Joe

Also if you could help identify this .303" round. Similar weight to above Mark VII and also non magnetic, but just a “15” on the head? Most likely 1915, but by whom? Also possible reload as different extra set of neck stab crimping again.

Joe

Edit: Both rounds seem to have swaged primer pockets.

Your first round could be R 15 L VII with the L not stamped it does tie in with the date, I have not seen the double crimp before but I am no expert but the spacing between the R and the 1 looks right it also lines up with the VII to be R 15 L and the 15 dated round I have also has the primer crimp ring. BUT it could also be R 15 W VII but I haven’t seen any of these dates with the primer ring only RL but like I say I am not an expert

as for the 2nd round it could be same manufacturer but just a broken bunter stamp ???

hope this helps

Rich

Without doing extensive research, could these be British factory reloads? In other words, were reloads authorized in this time period or there after?

joe

Both the US & the British would put the date a 12:00 & RichT is likely right about the top one.

The lower one could by any number of makers with a K-, U-, R/|\ L, G-, KN- or perhaps others makers date format.

Get out the really good glass & see what you can see.

As to the two sets of crimps I don’t like them, look to casually put on.

but i can’t speak to factory / arsenal reloads

Not sure what you mean by the primer pocket being swaged, you mean opened up?