303 Savage help needed

Once again I find myself asking for advise from the forum with little to contribute. As a few of you know I collect as well as research older cartridges. I study one cartridge till I have a firm grasp on the round, then move to another. At present I am studying the 303 Savage. Unlike many rounds like the 30-30, the 303 seemed to have few factory loaded options. Seems 190 grain soft points and fmj’s were standard. Remington loaded 180 grain mushroom and round nose cor-lokt’s, and now Hornaday is loading a 150 grain round nose. There are also the minature or sub rounds for small game as well.My question to the forum, does anyone know of different loading? And lastly from my limited research, the only rifle chambering the 303 was the Savage 99, I wonder why Hornaday chose a round nose design.

I can’t add much to what you’ve already said, but I can provide a reason for the round-nose bullet - shorter bullet nose length. The Savage 99 magazine is very sensitive to cartridge overall length, and will jam if the cartridge is even slightly longer than standard . If the cartridge is loaded with heavier spitzer-type bullets, the intersection of the bullet’s ogive and the cylindrical body will be below the case mouth at the maximum cartridge OAL. I have found that about the heaviest spitzer bullet I can use in reloading for the .303 Savage is 130 grains for that reason, and I usually use 125 grain or 110 grain spitzer bullets when I don’t use 150 or 170 grain RN bullets as used in the .30-30. Within the useful hunting range of the .303 Savage, a round-nose bullet is fully adequate. The original .303 Savage load using the 190 grain RN bullet had a well-founded reputation in its day for its penetrating capabilities on large game. Otherwise, it’s the ballistic twin of the .30-30.