30x173mm and 35x228mm projectile dimensions

Newbie here,

This forum seemed like the best place where I might get help on information I’m trying to get, but I didn’t had any luck yet. I’d like to know if it’s possible to get the dimensions or technical drawings for the 30x173mm and 35x228mm calibers. I have the shell casings in my collection since a long time, and I’d like to 3d print some fake projectiles to make the round complete. Searched on the internet and could’nt get what I was looking for.

Any help given will be greatly appreciated !

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I have examples of these cartridges but no drawings or means of producing any. I can take photos but that’s the best I can manage.

Thanks for your reply;

Pictures with a ruler next to it would be great.

I’ve found this topic : 50 mm Oerlikon which has some nice drawings at the end, that would be perfect if I could get my hands on the same drawings but for the calibers I’m looking for.

Here a 35x228 HEI.

35x228_HEI_Mi%20Br%20G%20MZ%20Flab%20Kan%2063

Excellent ! Exactly what I was looking, for ! Thank you very much ! Ill try to post pictures here of my project.

OOOPS! My mistake.

Alex is correct, wrong 30mm cartridge/projectile.
That’s what happens when I get in a hurry. Images deleted so as not to confuse the focus of this thread.

Brian

Brian, interesting! I was not aware that Amron made 30x170.
Do you happen to know the case material of their rounds?

Two questions regarding the drawings :

For the 35mm projectile, the diameters are showing only negative tolerence differences, how come ?

And does the 30mm drawing is valid for a projectile that’d be fired from the gau-8 canon ? My casing comes from an A-10.

Thank you again.

Somehow I initially read you were looking for a 30x170 and for some reason Brian did too.

For the 30x173 GAU-8 you will need a different drawing.

When you are living in the US it should be very easy to find such a projectile in online sales.