.32 Smith & Wesson Long Cartridge - JANE'S

I just received a 2005-2006 copy of Jane’s ammunition yesterday and was paging threw it finding some super interesting rounds of all sizes and designs. I was also totally amazed to see that the forums very own Anthony Williams is also one of 2 Editors of the book. That’s just amazing! Anyhow, on page 12 & 13 their is a bullet with a design feature I have never seen before. I am still learning and realize I have not seen much outside my limited collection interests until joining the IAA and learning GOBS from all of you. Anyhow, this bullet is called a “.32 Smith & Wesson Long Cartridge”, and has the outside, circumference of its headstamp engraved like the side of a US coin. Why is that? Does it serve a function? Just caught my eye. I took a picture of it from the book. Note that the original photo as published in Jane’s was taken by Anthony Williams, as are numerous others in the book. I am sure most of you already knew this. Anyhow, their is some extreme greatness here :-)

Might the knurling on the case rim be an indication of a PROOF load? I have a few 9mmP cartridges like that.

Thanks Leon. I really have no clue what it is for. You could be right?

The load with the knurled rim is probably of European manufacture. The knurled rim would have no recognizable meaning on U.S.-manufactured ammunition, and would not be done to identify a proof load in this country. It is not a SAAMI recognized form of identification for proof loads. I would guess that the cartridge is either of Hirtenberg or Geco manufacture, or possibly, but less likely, Sellier & Bellot, in which case Leon would be correct it would be a proof load.

Well done John, it’s a Geco!

Well, you definitely know your stuff, John! Like a detective :=) Does the knurling mean anything in Europe? It just really caught my eye when I saw it in Jane’s as something unusual.