6.5mm Western

Gentlemen:

Can someone please identify this cartridge for me? I am an overt newbie but suspect that it might be a .256 Newton manufactured by the Western Cartridge Company at some point in time between 1917 and 1938, but just guessing. With any luck I have attached links and or the actual photo’s [with Ron’s help?] of the head-stamp and the cartridge body.

Thanks

s1243.photobucket.com/user/GaryW … sort=3&o=1

s1243.photobucket.com/user/GaryW … sort=3&o=0

Welcome Gary
looks to be a 6.5x54 Mannlicher-Schoenaur by Western. Western made .256 Newtons had ‘.256 Newt’ as the headstamp.

Thank you, Pete; any idea of the year of manufacture? As the head-stamp indicates, there is no “date” on same.

Gary, until 1921 the only US ammunition available in 6.5x54 Mannlicher-Schönauer was USCCo manufactured and also commercial hand-loads by Sportsman’s Service Station. In 1922 Western Cartridge Co. introduced an Open-Point Expanding 140 gr loading which was later followed by a 160 gr Soft Point, which is the one you have.

Thanks for the information, Fede. I am again attaching a couple of links to what I believe you are talking about. Actually a friend of mine who knows of my interest in 6.5mm ammo, in particular the infamous 6.5mm WCC “Oswald” ammunition, is a regular visitor to gun shows etc. He picked up a small zip-lock bag marked merely “6.5mm Mannlicher Western” at a flea market in Minnesota last fall. There were six rounds in the bag, four bearing the Western head-stamp I posted earlier in this thread and as luck would have it, after seeing your answer to my initial query, the other two were as you described them and as I have attached herein; am I correct? A quick question coming from a true newbie; are these rounds considered “commercial/sportsman” or are they military loads? Please excuse my ignorance - I am a research historian and writer. Thanks.

s1243.photobucket.com/user/GaryW … sort=3&o=1

s1243.photobucket.com/user/GaryW … sort=3&o=0

Gary