7.62mm x 51 SLAP

I have 2 SLAP rounds which differ in the sabot shape and bullet seating depth.
Headstamps are WCC 8 SLAP 5 and WCC 8 SLAP 8

Do these 2 variations have different designations and are there any other variations ?

cheers,
Simon

I believe there are 4 variations on this - you have 3 and 4 (four having a more gentle angle on the sabot, if this is too steep the cartridge jammed the weapon by hanging up on the feed ramp).I have another with the steep angle on the sabot but appears to have a FMJ 5.56 bullet in it. THe sabot looks the same, also a honey coloured plastic. If I could work out how to post pictures here I would, I will email you one. Headstamp on this one is WCC SLAP at 12 and 6 0’clock.

I believe you Model 3 the projectile has pulled out of the sabot, it should be seated lower…

Will

This is my first attempt at posting a picture, lets see how it works

url://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll74/ … /slaps.jpg
i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll74 … /slaps.jpg

I see this still does not work so I will email you the picture instead.

There are also a series of South African cartridges which use the saboted principle. They were developed for a different reason: