7.63mm Mauser Stripper Clip ID

I just received a box of 20 7.63mm Mauser rounds with no marking on the box to indicate the manufacturer. The stripper clips are marked simply “F.J.”! The cartridges have a Rheinmetall commercial headstamp.

Who is the clip manufacturer “F.J.” and when were they in business???

Any information would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Lew

Lew,

As far as I know the identity of “FJ” is one of the abiding clip questions. As well as the 10 round pistol ones the same marking is also seen on 6,5x54 MS and 7,9x57 chargers.

Can anyone solve the mystery ?

Pete

Pete,
I knew you would have information for me, even if it is “I don’t know!”

If it is any help, the cases and the ammo is probably pre-WWI, but I am no expert on 7.63 M ammo. The box has a wood finish tissue paper over the brown cardboard. The box is strange,
lacking any indication of who made it. It may not even be made by Rheinmetall, but only used Rheinmetall cases.

Does anyone have pre-WWI or even immediately post-WWI 7.63 M specimens and/or boxes? I am interested in knowing when they began producing 7.63M and if they produced this caliber in the years immediately after WWI. It is possible that they produced this from prewar residue cases and the label was because it wasn’t clear if this production was legal immediately post WWI.

I thought identifying “F.J.” would help me identify the ammo. Perhaps the ammo can help identify FJ! Seems to me they must have been German and perhaps prewar. Do their clips show up on military 7.9x57 or only commercial???

Thanks again Pete!

Lew

Thanks Pete!

Lew,

Here’s a 7,9x57 charger with the FJ marking, what’s interesting about this one is that it has the holes at the ends of the springs, a feature generally seen only on early production, possible pre-1914.