8mm Lebel steel cased, tracer or not?

I have two steel cased 8mm lebel rounds that have non magnetic projectiles. Other than an x-ray, how does one tell if they are tracer or not?

Joe

In the absence of any other means of determination weight alone should help suggest whether or not the bullets are ordinary lead core ball or tracer. A tracer bullet for the Lebel cartridge would probably weigh 50 grains less than an ordinary ball round. If you have access to other Lebel rounds a ball park figure for what a balle N round in brass case weighs should get you a working point of departure. Even better if you’ve got one with a steel case. Jack

These steel cased rounds manufactured under German occupation are supposedly solid bronze projectiles with some bored out at the bottom for a tracer mixture. I do not think they compare to an ordinary French ball round. I have dozens of 8mm lebel rounds, but there weights are all over the place as I have no knowledge of what is a ball round and what is otherwise. I do not know how to tell the difference.

Joe

Joe: The balle D (homogeneous brass) bullet weighs about 198 gr., and the balle N (cupro-nickel clad steel jacket over lead) about 231 gr. I’d think (but do not know for a fact) an 8 m/m Lebel tracer bullet would weigh on the order of 150 to 170 gr. Jack

FWIW, from the old website 8lebel.org the weight for a 8mm Lebel tracer bullet is listed as being 11.15 to 11.2 grams or 172 to 173 gr.

Brian

Ok, so now what does a German occupation steel empty primed casing weight? Powder is supposedly 46 grains. My two rounds pictured weigh in at 403 and 410 grains.

joe

Firstly, they are Balle 1932 (N) with CuproNickel Jacket…Balle 86D is red-brass/copper colour, as it is swaged and turned from rod, of 90/10 alloy.

Doc AV

Maker of CNC Balle D, 194,5 grains (60/40 alloy)

Both are tracer, tinned brass bullet.

chassepot

[quote=“chassepot”]Both are tracer, tinned brass bullet.

chassepot[/quote]