8x50R/8x52R Siamese

I worked as a technician at the underwater communications cable system that ran from Camp Vayama near Sattahip, Thailand to Vung Tau in Viet Nam from 1971-1973. Vayama was the point of entry for all bombs that were dropped in South East Asia from the Airfields in Thailand. I was amazed at the variety that existed as the trucks passed by the cable site after unloading the ships at the port. This went on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Here is an empty Kynoch made 8x52R Type66 case

Regards,
Vince

An extremely interesting thrread. Were you a SCUBA tech.? We had several FINNs on the site early on but they don’t seen to come on any longer. ???

CSAEOD

No, an electronic tech. Maintained and operated the comm. equip.

pbutler

I have three variants of the Kynoch manufactured 8mm Siamese cartridge.

Left to right these are:

Ball, purple annulus, K 68 8MM.S
Tracer, red annulus, K 50 8mmS
Tracer Standard, clear annulus, K 50 8mmS

There is also a grey tipped tracer, but I do not have that. I cannot help with the ballistics as the round is not listed in Kynoch’s pre-war catalogue of military contract ammunition, nor is it listed in their 1950s commercial catalogues.

Refards
TonyE

strakv & TonyE

Thanks for the pictures

pbutler

‘Cartridges Issue 332’ dated !st Quarter 1986 IAA previous journal has an excellent article entitled ‘The 8mm Siamese Cartridge’ with hst drawings - check IAA’s backcopy listings.