8x52R T66 Siamese from SAKO

Does anyone have a box and/or label for this 8x52R T66 Siamese from SAKO (I think)? Was it a commercial venture or a contract for Thailand?

Phil, is yours 8x56R or 8x52R? Should be 52mm. I have a similar “S66” round, and have always believed it to be a military contract.

Jonnyc - It is a 8x52R of course, fat finger problems I quess!! Are there any other dates known?

It also exist with 1966, 1967 and 1970 dates. The ones made in 1966 also exists in two headstamp variations: “S 66 8MM m66” and “S 66 8MM S”.

Thanks Fede and jonnyc for responding. Something else for me to be on the lookout for!

Interesting, mine is the “S 66 8MM m66”.

From 1971 to 1973 I worked as a civilian technician on the 439L Submarine Communications System (submarine as in underwater not as in boats) at Camp Vayama near Sattahip, Thailand. This cable system tied Thailand and about 5 or 6 sites in Viet Nam together. The Thai Navy provided security for the terminal building and they were armed with the old Siamese Mausers. I asked one of the guards if I could see his rifle and he let me examine it. I wish I had looked at his ammo. It would have been interesting to see what the Thai Navy was using during that time frame.

There are lots of variations of this 8 x 52 R to look for, including more than 20 different headstamps (some of the rarest ones were made by DWM). It was also made by Winchester, but I’m not sure if an example was ever found.

Fede – Very interesting. I didn’t realize there are so many different headstamps. Do you happen to have a listing of them that you post or send me via Email or PM?

Here is the list:

๖๕ (65)
๖๖ (66)

S 66 8MM S
S 66 8MM m66
S 67 8MM m66
S 70 8MM m66
S 71 8MM m66

K.34 8 m/m S
K 36 8 mm S.
K 37 8 m/m S
K50 8 mm S
K51 8 mm S
K54 8 mm S
K57 8 MM S
K68 8 MM.S

19 V.I. 28 28 HL
19 V.I. 28 29 HL

K DWM K 2480 (1937)