9mm Mauser pistol manufacture P635

I have this new acquisition from Tommy Fallon’s collection of Boulder City NV. It is a 9mm Mauser supposedly made by Gustloff-Werke, Otto Eberhardt-Patronenfabrik, Hirtenberg Niederdonau. Have seen plenty of these with headstamp DWM and three number and following letter, but never with a P code. Are these rare, or is it just that I am a novice. Brass case and primer. Magnetic projectile. Slight red primer annulus still left. Three stab bullet crimp.

Joe

Not a rare headstamp. The tougher “P” to find is the P28.

Related older post: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6747&p=47199&hilit=greece#p47199

xjda68,
the DWM headstamp you mention is commercial production, the number being the identifier used by DWM for “9 mm Mauser” case. The P635 is the German military code for identifying the manufacturer as you correctly write (Hirtenberger factory seized from Mandl and named after a Nazi who died early).

[quote=“JPeelen”]xjda68,
the DWM headstamp you mention is commercial production, the number being the identifier used by DWM for “9 mm Mauser” case. The P635 is the German military code for identifying the manufacturer as you correctly write (Hirtenberger factory seized from Mandl and named after a Nazi who died early).[/quote]

Correct. My notes also indicate there is a 9mm Mauser pistol round with headstamp “DWM6”

Not sure, but I believe the DWM 6 round is most-likely the rimmed revolver cartridge.

My note only states I found reference for 9mm Mauser centerfire pistol on a IAA price sheet. Maybe the headstamp noted was for the Mauser Model 1878 Zig-Zag revolver cartridge? Unfortunately I do not know. I have looked at the current price sheet and it is still on there and does not stipulate for a novice such as myself.

Joe

Hi Joe,

On the A.E.C.C website http://www.municion.org/9x25/9x25.htm are several headstamps for the 9x25 mauser depicted

It seems to be P635 also made cartridges with a CN bullet.