9mmP blank?

lacquer coated Steel casing with red wax mouth sealant. Brass primer is heavily double crimped. Headstamp it (asb 43 1 zst).

Joe

Find of the week, what is it?

Hi Joe,

it’s a 9x21 German Flame Thrower Igniter for the Flammenwerfer 41.

Domi

The extended Extractor groove gives it away as a Flammenwerfer Igniter. Any Packets out ther in IAA Land? The Labels would be interesting…

Doc AV

Very interesting, thanks. For a dollar I figured I could not go wrong. I have not seen one of these before, but I am just a novice. Are these a common item or did I stumble upon a goodie?

Joe

Joe,

At least one one time the German ones were fairly common, at least in my area. We even had a tray of them in our “Cartridge Collector” section in the store.

I never did see any package for them. There is a French Version and a Swiss Version also, very much the same in size and shape, so much so, in fact, that I always wondered if they weren’t for the German Flammenwerfer 41 or at least a copy of it. I actually have never seen pictures or any documentation on the flame throwers themselves, although I admittedly never have researched them.

I used to keep one of each specimen, by country and headstamp, in my collection because they were “like” an auto pistol cartridge. When I found my Swiss one split almost the full length, in my cabinet, I decided it was silly that I kept them anyway, and passed them on. Not silly for those who collect any military cartridge; just silly to “pretend” they were auto pistol cartridges because I liked them. :-(

John, there is also a Czechoslovak variant.

This cartridge was actually used by the flamethrower designated Flammenwerfer 41 mit Strahlpatrone, as the Flammenwerfer 41 did not used this type of ignition. All the German boxes that I have seen indicate loading at the DWM Lübeck-Schlutup factory (edq).