Ammo de-activation help

I have several requests from Europe to send de-activated ammo. I’ve never done this before (yes, it is my first time). I just got an inertia hammer (if that is the right term). Are there any tricks to it? Is there a good web site describing the correct way of using it?

Hi sksvlad,

I assume that you would like to inert small arms ammunition only?

If yes, there is nothing very special about that, just use common sense.
If you have a plastic inertia hammer, take care not to blow it on a too hard surface like tiled floors or concrete. The head of the hammer might get broken if you do that. Any hard floor with a layer of thin plastic carpet (like linoleum, etc.) will do.

Depending on the type of small arms ammo, you have to blow the hammer really hard. Large caliber rifle ammo will get unloaded easily, while the small calibers and pistol cartridges will unload very difficult.

About shipping things overseas to Europe, the customs of every European country almost always inspects the packets. A good idea is to fire all primers and to send items (cases and bullets) separated. An assembled but unloaded cartridge may cause confusion to an ignorant customs officer and in term may cause troubles for your customers. A good idea is also a “To whom it may concern” note inside the packet that explains the contence as unusable and inert.

Hope this helped!
Chris

“Snapping” hits onto a hard surface. It’s a change in speed, not the amount of arm that gets the job done. With military ammo, seating the bullet slightly deeper first helps to break the seal. Placing a wad of tissue in the bottom will help prevent damage to soft point bullets.

I’ll leave primer deactivation methiods for someone else to answer.