Ammo Storage Question

Hi all,

Just had a cabinet built to store my paper shot shells. I had 1" and 3/4" fluted inserts made to go in the drawers. The inserts are made of maple and are varnished. Should I put acid free paper in the flutes?

Rookie

Rookie; I’m a rookie too. In the old days of cartridge collecting, people loved to use antique oak sewing thread spool cabinets, which looked really neat and were built as if they had been designed just for cartridges. However, the unsealed oak had chemicals that outgassed and attacked metal. Collectors began sealing the wood with varnish or whatever, and that seemed to help a lot. Some wood is worse than others. Oak is terrible. I suspect that if your cabinet’s wood is completely sealed - the cabinet itself in addition to your inserts - you will probably be OK. But you will need to check frequently to be sure.

I doubt that lining your inserts with acid-free paper would do any good because the paper is porous and will allow the gasses, if any, to go right through to the shotshells.

The best solution is a metal cabinet with thin drawers, such as a blueprint file. However, these are extremely expensive, even used ones. But they sure are nice, and cartridge collectors are always looking for a deal on one.