Any interest in a 8x58R Danish thread?

I’m by far an expert but i have lots of knowledge (and some books) on the subject of the Danish M1889 (Norvegian M1888) and Swedish M1889 8x58R ammo.
If there is interest here i will compile my knowledge/understanding of this cartridge and answer questions if i’m able.

1 Like

Yes!!! Please do!
Maybe you have some exotic ones to show?

I’ll start compiling tomorrow when i’m sober ;-)
will take some hours.

Life can be cruel :-D

The cartridge that started it all.
The original 227gr round nose bullet (*) over a healthy dose of BP.
Some 72½grains compacted to a solid in the case and another 7½grains of priming powder to set it of. And the hexagonal (Rasmussen) rifling.
With that load pressures clocked in at around 33½kpsi (from black powder!!!)
DSCN0135 s

My earliest one is’nt even in a Danish case!
DWM from 1892, the others are from 1901.
The Arsenal started making 8x58R cases in 1890 but only on an experimental basis.

From git go there was no color code as the only loading was BP. From @1890 the first smokeless trickled out so the BP cartridges had a black tip and bottom. Silly i know but bear with us as armour piercing wasent invented yet ;-)

DM 92

Right after that a blank saw the light of day.
Wooden bullet and red paint on base and bullet.
Earliest one is a reloaded 1898 case.
And the Navy had their own system so blanks had to be blue.

Then came the 1908 spitzer cartridge.
Again black bottom and tip but this time it was a mark for the Navys 1893 rolling blocks and the reduced load. Also found in green and dark blue to add to the confusion.
Remington on the left and standard on the right.

As part payment for the Virgin Islands some 25million 8x58RD was negotiated. Maxim won the contract but their quality was so shotty that the Danish government paid an US lawyer $10000 to end the contract and Remington delivered the remaining. Marked RA over 17 (year).

The illusive Maxim round:
8x58RD Maxim