Bronze Wool?

Could use some info. I’m new to cartridge collecting ( 43 Mauser ) & was reading that you can use bronze wool to clean cartridges. What condition should the cartridge be to use bronze wool or use on any condition ???.
Neil

Neil,
Bronze wool, while great for things like unpolished aluminum car parts, is pretty aggressive for cartridges. I have used newsprint, course kraft paper, and a product called “Never-Dull” that we used on military uniform parts for cartridges. To answer the question, I would recommend bronze wool ONLY on the most heavily tarnished or nearly “corroded” cartridges, not on just dirty or “old-looking” cartridges. Of course some collectors recommend against nearly any cleaning, and bronze wool is way up there on the scale of things to avoid. Just my two cents worth.