IHMSA - As far as I know, mere possession in one’s house or in areas not suitable for hunting (such as going from your local gun shop to your home (in most cases) with leaded ammunition, is not a crime. However, according to my friend who owns a local gun shop, and who reads all of these laws carefully since they pertain to his business, says that the law refers to all lead. That means lead cores also. I have also heard that Fish & Game considers possession of the ammunition in a hunting area (if you’re walking around the woods with a rifle and lead-containing ammunition) to be evidence that you are using it for hunting, and therefore the law applies, even if you have not fired a shot.
Guy - there is no caliber restriction on deer hunting in california. I could use a .222 Remington on deer if I wished. However, you cannot shoot deer with a rimfire cartridge. Not being a hunter, and having forgotten much of what I knew about regulations while working in the gun shop, I don’t recall if any rimfire caliber is allowed or not - certainly not .22 of any length or power factor. However, if a guy is hunting ground squirrels or other varmints were .22RF (and other RF ammo) is allowed, and it is in the designated areas, he is in violation if the bullets contain any lead. The same would go for shotgun slugs made of lead, since slugs are allowed in California for deer hunting, although to my knowledge, buckshot is not.
A kid out plinking, with no intent to take game at all, in an area where a California Condor flies over once every 35 years or so, would be in danger of arrest.
Mind you, I could be incorrect on minor points of these new laws, but I don’t think that I am. I have not dealt with these questions professionally in about 8 years now. At one time I, along with all of our clerks, knew the laws better than most people who enforce them. We had to for our own protection and that of our customers!
It is an incredibly stupid law and one in which the main intent is NOT the protection of Condors, in my own opinion. The PETA freaks can claim anything they want, but they are such liars that I would not believe them. It is simply another way to hit the gun shop owner in loss of ammunition sales, the hunter, who all the socialist elite hate, and the gunowner.
All one has to do to understand what is going on in California in gun laws is to look at the so-called Safe gun Act. It requires any model of handgun sold in California to be tested, with four or five guns submitted for testing, and a very big fee paid. Now, never mind that most of the cheap little autos often felt to be junk even by gun entusiasts passed the tests. If the law is really about protecting the gun-buying consumer from shoddy goods, why does a handgun of the same make and model but with a different barrel length, also have to be tested, just like it was a completely different model, with the loss of the guns tested and the fee to the manufacturer. How about the same gun with a different finish? Stainless, Blue and Nickel would all have to be tested separately although the same Make, Model and caliber. Why are police exempt from the law? Should they be carrying guns that the State considers “unsafe?” Why are private party transactions exempt? If two of us lived in the state of California, and you wanted to buy my gun, not on the safe gun list, we could go to a gun dealer and he would have to do a private party transaction - all perfectly legal. But, he coudln’t sell either of us the same gun from his own stock. Obviously, the law is designed to reduce the selection of guns a dealer can sell, and thereby his income, to try to force him out of business. It has nothing to do with safe guns. Once a gun is ruled safe, the safe-gun rating has to be renewed every so-many years (I forget how long it is kept on the list). The manufacturer doesn’t have to submit any more guns to prove the quality is the same - he just has to pay the fee again if he wants his gun kept on the list. If he doesn’t pay the fee, the gun is taken off the list and the dealer who still has some can’t even sell his existing stock in the state. Has anyone ever heard of the word “EXTORTION?”
We also have a one-gun-a-month purchase law. Again, this applies only to guns sold by the dealer. My local gun shop cannot sell me more than one handgun a month, even if I am a collector, or even if I am buying a consecutively serial-numbered pair of guns. I must buy one of them a month. Now, back to private party transactions. I can buy as many guns a month as I want from other private parties as long as the law is complied with by the two of us going to a gun shop and doing the paperwork. the dealer has to hold the gun for the required 10-day waiting period and then the buyer has to go get it. The dealer gets about ten dollars for his paper work. I did a time study of what it took when I was in the business to handle a handgun transaction from the time it walked into our store to the time it walked out - all paper work involved for the dealer. It took just a minute or so under an hour. Any dealer who doesn’t figure his shop time at $75.00 an hour is probably going to go out of business anyway. Dealers have much more paper work today on a handgun transaction, than we even did when I was still in the game. The State of California gets more money, by the way, than the dealer does, from the Private Party Transfer fees, and has none of the responsibilities except for a ten second record check off of the computers.
Since the dealer himself can only sell me one handgun a month, do you think the one-gun-a-month law is aimed at reducing crime, or at putting the honest gun dealer out of business? Gee, that’s a tough question to mull over - should take everyone at least one milcro-second to come up with the right answer!!!