Cartridge Database

Again as a beginner I dont really know if there is a standard set of things I need to record about each cartridge. Anyone out there using a database? What are the fields you are recording. Obviously caliber, maker but what others are good choices. How do you record headstamps as a circular line of text it has no begining or end so how do you break it down (This is also applicable to another questio regarding how to decode headstamps).
I am already behind as I have 300 plus rounds and growing. Memory is never good enough and simple lists dont work well for me.

Thanks
Alex

Your data base or catalog can be as simple or as complicated as you want to make it. Some guys put more effort into their catalogs than they put into their collections. I prefer a simple catalog myself. It shows caliber, headstamp, a brief description, and a number so I can quickly find it in my collection storage system. Just be sure that you leave yourself a lot of room to expand, because you will soon run out of numbers. Your 300 will soon grow to be 3000.

This has been discussed several times on the Forum. You should be able to search for some of the threads. Or, just wait and the data base junkies will be here shortly to describe theirs.

Good Luck.

I keep track of primer, primer shape, crimps & sometimes size, annulus color, case material, or treatment, as perhaps tinned or copper washed, basic shape (necked, tapered, & etc.) & type (semi-rim, rimless & etc) bullet crimp, bullet shape & material, magnetic or not, & and cannelures on the bullet, plus any colors on the case or bullet.

That said you need to decide how much detail you feel you need to record. Some folk who just collect one case type just draw the headstamp & then note case material / colors & bullet type / material /colors, pretty basic information.