Colt .45

Hello, I’m just doing a little study on the “English Order” Russian contract for the Colt 1911 .45 by Czar Nicholas the second. Would anyone know if Russia ever manufactured the Colt .45 ammnition between 1916 and 1949? Has anyone ever seen a case with Russian writing on it in this round? Thanks

I studied russian ammo for about 20 years and in particular ammo for small arms and never came across any trace or bit of information that such cartridges were made.

As far as I know, the contract was let via England. It is possible that a British firm provided the ammo, or commercial US ammo was sent along with the pistols.

The question of Russian .45 ACP ammunition production during the WWI and WWII period probably is best answered by two circustances, one pointing to WWI supplies and one from recent years involved with WWII.

The English order, which was made through the British Government due to previous agreements between Russian and England, is pretty clear. In Ovember of 1915, The Russian Chief of Staff sent a telegram to the Ministry of War authorizing the purchase of arms and ammunition from Allied and Neutral countries regardless of caliber, provided THAT THEY COULD BE PURCHASED WITH ACCOMPANYING AMMUNITION. Since England was already involved in the War, and the United States was not, I would think that the likely source of ammunition was the United States, and that it was probably commercial production rather than from Frankford Arsenal, the only military factory producing caliber .45 Pistol ammunition at the time.