English Municion.org

Not trying to be snide by any means, but why, with all of its knowledge, does this group not have a English version of the Spanish Municion.org. I spend most of my time identifying cartridges there, because even with Spanish translation, it is easy to locate, find basic information, measurements, and compare pictures of cartridges and headstamps. I know there are many private sites that attempt to do this, but most are far from being as comprehensive as Municion.org. Just curious. Love the discussions here, but sometimes it can be very time consuming finding basic information on the more common cartridges most of us encounter.

I’m not an officer of the IAA any more so can share my own thoughts without committing the IAA one way or another.

Remember, the IAA is an all volunteer organization. It could create the English equivalent of Municion.org if that was a priority. The IAA could do a great number of things. When I was an officer, I tried for a number of years to find volunteers to take on the update of the headstamp code list on the IAA website, unsuccessfully…

Remember also that the IAA is incorporated as a tax exempt social organization (A 501c7 organization under the regulations of the IRS). This places a number conditions and restraints on the IAA, including the IAA Forum with the principal being that the things it does must be to serve it’s members. Originally, the justification for the public access website and the public access forum was to attract new members. The IRS has accepted that argument. I am not involved anymore, but I suspect that any public access website service provided must be defined in terms of the value/services it provides IAA members to make the IRS happy. The IRS requires an annual submittal that provides this sort of information. Do they check, only rarely as far as I know. Still, if they did and the IAA was found wanting, an all volunteer organization may not survive.