FN Made Yellow Tip 30-06 AP

Hi,

This should be a simple one for the experts, but not for me.

I have the below cartridge with an FN 47 headstamp.

Does anyone know what the yellow color coding means on this cartridge? Also was this cartridge used by the Belgians or is it a contract for another country?

Thanks for any information.

Heavyiron

Belgium made ammo for most anyone who wanted it and made it to specs for whomever ordered it.

I would think that the yellow tip would be an observation round.

just my 2 cents and I am not an expert by any stretch.

According to Chris Punnett in “.30-06” Yellow is the code for Armor Piercing. It is usually found in cases dated “F N 47”. It is believed that these were a contract for the Dominican Republic. The bullet weight is 175 gr.

Since it was for Dominica, it would figure that it would be armor piercing. However, in 7.9 x 57 and I believe also in .303, yellow was used for Observation - basically the same as the German B-patr. (Beobachtungpatrone). So, “Missing Something” was missing something here with his ID, but for good reason. My first thought was it was an observation round, also. Didn’t have time to research it though.

A classic example of why you can’t take any colored tip for granted as to what the round is. All depends on who was using it; that is, who made it or for whom it was made.

It’s AP - I’ve sectioned a bunch of them and they are identical to the drawing shown as Figure 25 in my book.

[quote=“JohnMoss”]Since it was for Dominica, it would figure that it would be armor piercing. However, in 7.9 x 57 and I believe also in .303, yellow was used for Observation - basically the same as the German B-patr. (Beobachtungpatrone). So, “Missing Something” was missing something here with his ID, but for good reason. My first thought was it was an observation round, also. Didn’t have time to research it though.