German 7.92mm and the meaning of labels

Hello,
I decided to register to this forum since I’m new in collecting ammo and, even if I read all I can find, I have always few question without answer.

I have now ~30 originals box. Some with labels. I understand the usage of “I. L.” or “In Ladestreifen” and “Lackierte Hülsen” but what about “Für Gewehr” and “Für MG” ?

I don’t want to disassemble some to check the load. They look the same and they can be loaded with brass, CWS and LS.

Someone could tell me more about that ?

Thanks

Welcome here SirN!

“Für Gewehr” means “for rifle”.

“Für MG” means “for machine gun”.

Or is your question about why ist was specified on the boxes?

The “Fur MG” and “Fur Gew” only means that the ammunition is, quality wise, suitable for these types of Guns…NOT that they are a specific Loading. The Overstamp was usually applied later than at the factory, usually at a Depot, after testing (older ammo); There are also overstamps denoting “training only”.

The Labels on German cartridge Packs ( 15 rds Rifle, 16 rds Pistol, 300 Tragegepakt, and 1500 PatronenKasten) are all interesting as to the information supplied.

Doc AV

iL im Ladestriefen ( sp.)

Steel cases are difficult to get right. The label “Für Gewehr” basically means that function firing of this lot showed problems (usually stuck cases in the chamber; Hülsenklemmer in German) in MG34, especially when the barrel was hot. In peacetime conditions it would have been rejected.

On the other hand “Für MG” means that this lot showed no problems during function firing in MG34. It basically told the troops: set aside this lot for use in machine guns, because it works well. Do not waste it by issuing it to rifle carrying soldiers.