Help in ID of a bullet

Just found a bullet. It’s about 11+ mm. It was found in northern Israel, in a war/training area from the beginning of the 20th century untill the late 50’s. Can anyone help me ID it? In the last picture I’ve put it next to a 9 mm for scale. I known that I don’t have a lot of information but I hope you can help

looks like a 45ACP bullet

1 Like

Thank you, do you have any idea how old is it and what is the weapon?

The .45 Automatic Colt Pistol cartridge (commercial name) or Cartridge, Ball Model of 1911 (military name) was mainly used in the U.S. Model 1911 .45 pistol or the various models of the Thompson submachine guns. All of which were widely used in WW2, and probably by Israeli forces as well.

1 Like

Would not the right hand twist land marks suggest this was fired in something other than a Colt government model? Jack

1 Like

Thank you very much! Makes sense

What do you mean? (I’m not an expert, I just recently started to collect them)

Nadav: Notice that in your .45 bullet the grooves engraved by the rifling tend from the left to the right as they move upward. This is referred to as “right hand twist” and is commoner than “left hand.” The Colt firm conventionally used left hand twist, so a Colt 1911 pistol and its various subtypes produce left hand twist markings on a fired bullet. The likeliest arm in .45 auto caliber in the period this bullet was fired would be the Thompson sub machinegun. Jack

2 Likes

Thank you very much 😁

Remember that Colt and Smith and Wesson Model 1917 Revolvers were also used by the US military during WWII, not just WWI. These fire the .45 M1911 cartridge using two, three “half-moon” clips.