Help me identify this cartridge

I ran across this and have had no luck researching it. I know it is a 25MM bullet because I had a collector measure it. The entire length is 9 inches, I’ve include some pictures I hope will help.
Thanks, Shannon

I think it is a Hotchkiss 25mm x 163 Type 96 used by the Japanese Navy.

Armourer, would that be from the WWII timeframe or earlier? Thanks for the help.
Shannon

Yes, this is a 25x163 Rimless Hotchkiss anti aircraft round. Funny that I have bought one as well today and posted photos of it. Someone else can probably give you more information. Here is my round:

http://iaaforum.org/forum2/viewtopic.php?t=2999

The Japanese built version was adopted for service use on 6 August 1936.
More info at navweaps.com/Weapons/WNJAP_25mm-60_mg.htm

Falcon,
I’m new to this type collecting but, your round is a German and mine is Japanese. Did both armies have some of the same rounds? How by the markings on mine would I be able to tell the date? Does yours have the set screw and the I A F L settings located on the second ring from the top?
Thanks, Shannon

Wow, that answers a lot of my questions Western. But I’ve got a few more after reading that info. First is there a way to tell what type round this is without pulling it? I don’t see any color that would identify it as AP, tracer, Ind, etc… Also, this is proberly a stupid question but if this round has a bursting charge like the info said, could it still be live. Again this may sound stupid but dit this type of shell explode on contact?
Thanks,
Shannon

The Japanese Navy bought this weapon from the French. Mine was made in German occupied France on French machinery, and stamped with the German Eagle over a number on the case and projectile.