Help to identify a .303 British

OK, so my good friend Gerald Morris and I are trying to figure out this .303 cartridge. It appears from the headstamp to be Dum Dum Arsenal southern circuit but the broad arrow is not present above the I. The other thing is that the projectile does not seem to fit with Southern Circuits timeline of 1895-1913. Pics are below and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I’m new to this so please forgive anything obvious that I may have missed.

Michael

Neither the small primer nor the coppery bullet jacket seem to suggest a pre-WW.2 British connection. Jack

I can’t get to my office right now, but for some reason I’m thinking it is Italian.

I am confident that it is not an Indian round from Dum Dum for all sorts of reasons.

Southern Circuit never made Mark VII ball
The bullet is GM or GMCS, neither of which were in use in the period in question.
The purple annulus was not introduced until 1918 by which time the Southern Circuit headstamp was not used.
As already stated, there is no Broad Arrow over the “I”.
The cap is too small.

It may be Italian as Jonny suggests, but I would lean towards French.

Regards
TonyE

Having so elegantly disposed of Dum-Dum Southern Circuit, the question now remains ?Who and Where and When?

Further pointers>>>Primer Diameter: Italian 7,7 cases have a .250" Berdan primer ( same as British)…Primer Annulus colour is correct for British made cartridges, but Italian??; This cartridge looks like a .217" Berdan primer???

The Neck Crimp is also correct for British-made Cartridges up to the mid- 1940s… NO ( or indistinguishable) Primer Crimp, so therefore not likely to be an Aircraft use 7,7/.303.
Now “French or ???”…Not having seen many French made .303s ( 7,7) to compare with, but knowing the French had detailed headstamps, one could propose another maker…the Czechs, maybe or even the Spanish or Estonians?
or Finns ( Sako?)