Hey guys, newbie here

Just wondering if anyone knows anything about this Spanish ammo. I found a few boxes of it while helping the neighbor sort through some military stuff in the basement. Her husband passed away a couple months ago.

[/img]

Made for export to most probably South America, by UMC, about 1905, as near as I can recollect from my days of collecting UMC stuff. The Red Herald" UMC in circle came along about 1905, but this caliber was around long before then, since 1871. Many, many Remington Rolling Block and Peabody rifles were made in this caliber and exported to countries in South America, as well as Spain at one time. There were also Gatling Guns chambered for this round, if I remember correctly. Metric designation is 11.15 x 58R. Boxes like this are not rare, but not dead common either.

Thanks for responding Randy. IIRC, there are 4 or 5 (un-opened) boxes of this ammo. If I were to sell this stuff, what would be a fair price per box? I’d like to look inside, but the boxes are sealed and I’d have to tear the box to get it open. Thanks!

Mike

Mike…You are right, leave the boxes sealed…the cartridges inside look just like what’s on the label. These seem to vary alot in price depending on who’s selling…and most of them sit around quite awhile on the auction sites…you could check Gunbroker or Auction Arms to get an idea…