History of cartridge sectioning

What is the earliest known example of cartridges being sectioned for display or educational use. I know of the Polte boards from the Second World War era, but surely there are earlier…

How about “unofficial” sectioning, such as by cartridge collectors? Were all of the cutaway drawings in the Datig volumes based on sectioned examples?

Just curious, as I am a self taught “cutter” who got the idea from the Datig books and others of the era…

AKMS

U.S. army ordnance had a large display of current and historical cartridges sectioned in its display at the 1876 Philadelphia centennial exposition. It has been covered in two publications by B. R. Lewis and perhaps others. Jack

I have .30 Army cartridge cases and bullets, sectioned by Winchester about 1898, probably done to show that the cases and bullets were being properly made. They put these in a .38 S&W box and wrote on one end, “30 U S G Shells OK”.

When I collected UMC stuff, I had several factory sectioned cartridges, probably done around 1900 or so…( A factory sectioned UMC Krag round would be a nice addition to the collection :)…)

Randy

I suspect that cartridge sectioning began right after the first metallic cartridge was made, maybe even paper ones, just to check that the rounds were made correctly. My involvement began when I was collecting .30-06 and Chris Punnett was sectioning them. Chris’ work is superb, as anyone who has read his .30-06 book will confirm, and Chris would sometimes section a few extra rounds and offer them to collectors. He did some very nice rounds for me.

When I was working on my Gyrojet book, I asked Paul Smith to do a few rockets. Then a few more, and now I just counted 57 of Paul’s masterpieces in the book. Here’s one of my many favorites: