Hoping for some info

Hi guys - I’ve recently recovered some cartridges with the headstamp K C VI - I’ve no real background in ammunition (the finds were from an archaeological excavation), but so far I’ve managed to work out that they are star-crimped .303 rounds, probably Kynoch (based on various identification pages on the web).
If anyone has time could they answer two or three basic questions:

• what does the K C VI refer to (Kynoch/Cordite/Mark VI?) and does that imply any particular date range
  • what is the purpose of star-crimping and does it imply the round has been fired
  • is there any blindingly obvious comment that should be made when you see a star-crimped casing with a headstamp ‘K C VI’?
    Feel free to be as patronising as possible with your answers…

John

These are blank cartridges for training that only produce the sound effects of live ammunition. You are right about “K C VI”. It is “Kynoch, Cordite, Blank mark 6”. These are pre-1908, as no British made .303 Cartridges made before 1908 were date stamped. They were made between 1907 and 1908 as Mk VI blanks made before 1908 had a brass mock bullet that was a separate piece to the case, which was dropped because there were deats resulting from this actually firing. These would have also had the case chemically blackened. So, the overall information on these cartridges is:

Cartridge SA (small arms) .303 Inch Blank Mark 6, Made by Kynoch, Birmingham, England between 1907 and 1908.

I hope this is what you were looking for. Are you willing to say roughly where these were found?

Thanks for that Falcon.

They were found during some trial excavations (which are ongoing) at a hilltop enclosure in County Wicklow in Ireland (which may be a Late Bronze Age hillfort, but proving that was the purpose of the excavation - and that has not yet become clear).
The site is about 20 miles from the former Kynoch factory in Arklow.