How to catalogue inventory in a collection?

I am very new to cartridge collecting and new to the forum and as the title says, how do you guys catalogue your collection inventory? What do you include in the information and how do you organize everything?

Like I said, I am new and just getting into collecting but I have made sure to log everything that I put into my collection and keep those items separate from items that have not been “logged” into some kind of database or record keeping system. Right now I am pretty much just using and Excel spreadsheet to enter everything and have them organized by caliber/bullet diameter then broken up into a few different categories like rifle, handgun, rimfire, etc.

I think it is very important to catalogue and inventory everything that goes into my collection and wanted to make sure I started doing it from the beginning so as not to get way behind and overwhelmed at some point in the future when I would decide to finally do it.

Any tips or recommendations or examples of how you all categorize and log everything?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My collection is pretty small, so I usually write a designation on a cartridge case using permanent marker with thin tip, and log everything in an MS Excel spreadsheet such as this:

I use Microsoft Word. You can put as much or as little information about each cartridge as you wish. It presents it in a nice easy to read format. You can insert different fonts & symbols for unusual headstamps. Its simple to add new cartridges to wherever you want them in your list. It works!
Here is an extract from my list just showing the 6.5mm Arisaka as an example of the layout…

6.5mm Arisaka
China
6.5mm Ball. Mukden Arsenal, post-Communist capture in January 1950; yellow lacquer p.a., green casemouth seal, C. ( 1 50 )
6.5mm Ball. unknown mfr in November 1951; yellow lacquer p.a., green casemouth seal, C. ( D53 11 65 51 )
Great Britain