I.D. this .22LR chamber adapter

I hope it’s acceptable to post this here.

It doesn’t look like any of the old Marbles adapters I’ve ever seen over the years. Possibly part of an old military sub-caliber kit? There are no markings that I can see.

Thanks in advance.

I’m not an expert here, but that looks like the Hoffer-Thomson auxiliary cartridge used in WWI, in a Springfield with a .22 barrel. Not that rare. See Marcello’s book, “30-06 We Have Seen” Vol III, page 20.

That’s it - I did a search for Hoffer-Thompson and it came right up.

Thanks a million!

Chris–There were two models of the Hoffer-Thompson Adapter. The earlier model had a longer slot in the side and used the .22 Long cartridge. Yours is the later model with the shortened slot so only .22 Shorts would fit.

Want to see them in a charger? Look here
rifleman.org.uk/American_(USA_military_training_rifles.htm
Sorry, you must copy the entire link above and paste it into the browser, it would not allow me to produce direct link for some reason.

Delete

Ray, can you please explain why this is not an “Adapter” ?

Does it not “Adapt” a 30-06 chamber to fire a 22RF ?

delete

deleted due to common sense prevailing !

Delete

WDB

One last comment and then the floor is yours. The Hoffer-Thompson cartridge holder is much shorter than a Cal .30 (not 30-06) chamber and the rifle is 22 caliber. So, it doesn’t adapt anything. A Cal .30 cartridge will not chamber in a Hoffer-Thompson rifle.

You get the last word.

Ray

Thanks for clearing this up Rya, so we both agree that it adapts a shortened Springfield M03 chamber to fire a 22Short.

No, I would not agree to that at all. It’s a specially barreled '03 action.

So much for me getting the last word !

Ray is correct. The Hoffer Thompson M1903 Springfield used a special .22 caliber barrel with a shorter chamber to prevent accidental loading of a .30-06 cartridge.