Is this a 7,9x57 SmE cartridge II

Headstamp did not come through on previous post.

Yes, it is an SmE, as denoted by the blue primer seal. Type sS ball would have a green seal, normally speaking.

Cartridge overall weight will tell you also. Your cartridge should weigh approximately 379 grains, an average figure derived from weighing five specimens. If it were s.S. ball, that overall weight would be 400-406 grains, based on the same average.

I said “normally speaking” above, because s.S. ball cartridges can be found with Belgian, Czech and Polish-type s.S. bullets. Belgian rounds loaded as type s.S., usually found in steel cases, have black primer seals. Your round is pure German manufacture.

John Moss

John, thank you. I weighed the cartridge, it is 383 grains. One observation, I have been collecting cartridges for ten years, since 2010. I have not seen any boxes of SmE. I have found S.s., a lot S.m.K. the different tracer colors; but, no S.m.E. Has this been you experience?

I do not collect the 7.9 x 57 mm cartridge, although I did at one time and had a fair collection when I decided it took to much away from my hobby time and space, with my primary interest in ammo always being auto pistol/SMG cartridges.

However, I do not recall any particular rarity of boxes. I did not aggressively collect 7.9 boxes, but had perhaps three or four hundred when I broke up the collection. Mind you, that was military and sporting, and all countries, not just German Military. I am sure I have a fair number of SmE boxes.

Wish I could be more specific, as while I did save all of my library notes, including a workbook that I made up for myself on the German cartridges, I never made photos of my boxes and the collection has been gone for some time now.

John Moss

By volume, the SmE variant had the largest share of rifle cartridges produced, because there was simply not enough lead available to make sS bullets in the desired quantity.