Israeli .45 ACP

I came into a bag of several hundred loose .45 ACP FMJ rounds, HS is TZZ 86. Are these likely military or civilian, as there is no box for better identification? I know the Israelis used a variety of weapons over the years, so I suspect these may well be military. I just have not seen any .45s headstamped TZZ before. I’ll probably shoot most of them up (except for a few specimens) if there is nothing particularly desirable about them.

Just a comment. I think the line between Israeli military and civilian is extremely blurred and no ammo is either one or the other entirely.

No .45 ACP weapons in IDF service since some Thompsons were used back on the 40s-50s. The TZZ headstamps were developed for US military contracts, but I believe the ammo was sold as commercial surplus direct from Israel.

I didn’t know that there were US military ammunition supply contracts with Israel prior to Iraq.

During the 1980’s I was a Navy Small Arms Instructor attached to a large command and we went thru thousands of rounds per week. TZZ headstamps were almost the norm for us and I still have hundreds of cases that I ‘aquired’ and still load. While ours was a training allotment, I know for a fact the TZZ was combat issued too, in .45 ACP. This was about the time of the transition to 9mm, as I recall, and I was told that they were buying 45 ammo from Israil because it was cheaper than buying US.

The answer that this headstamp on .45 can be found in military use and for commercial sale is correct. The USMC bought a lot of IMI .45, but it evidently didn’t work out well. I have, somewhere in my .45 files, a copy of a withdrawal from service form for bad performance. I forget what the complaints were. If I have time next week, I will try to find it. The “name” of the form is not capitalized, by the way, because it is not an official form designation, simply what I chose to call it to describe its use.