I've found these in the dunes in the Netherlands

Hello Everybody,

My name is Segouta, and I’m from the Netherlands. I’m new on this great forum.
Recently, I’ve found two bullet casings, and I need some help identifying them…
I hope you guys can help me. I will send you some images.

The fist one is my biggest problem. Because I don’t know what the Z at 12 o’clock and the VI at 6 o’clock mean. I assume that the 19 and the 38 form the year 1938? Please help me, I want to know where this cartridge comes from so bad! And what are these 4 lines that devide the thing in four equal parts?

It was easier for me to find something out about this one (below). The p-code at the top suggests that its a German cardridge, right? And the S with the little star means that it’s a brass one, isn’t it? (I’m new in this world of ammo, so I’m not sure about these things…) The 37 at 9 o’clock says its made in 1937? Is that right?
And what is that 13 at 6 o’clock telling? Is that some kind of production number or something?

I hope you can help me! Thanx!

Greetings,

Segouta

First of all, welcome to the forum.

Your first round was made by; Zbrojovka Brno, Brno, Czechoslovakia
In June 1938.

The second one is German made by; Teuto Metallwerke G.m.b.H., Osnabrück
The 13 th case lot of 1937.

Both are 8 x 57 Mauser

Kind regards,
Met verzamelaars groeten

Dutch

The four lines on the first case have no special meaning. Some countries used them; Poland is another example. Possibly the purpose was to ensure symmetric deformation of the case head during stamping. Possibly it was simply cosmetic.
As always in ammunition there are exceptions. But this is the basic answer.

Unfortunately I am not your opinion.

The Germans used it to indicate a cartridge for using in machine guns.
In 1900 an additional “M” was used.
Some ware in 1916 it became standard, Cartridge for MG and rifle.

Rgds
Dutch