Japanese Stripper

I just acquired this Jap stripper clip. The clip and cartridges are in mint condition. The box is in excellant condition except that 1/2 of the label that seals the box is missing (the part that is torn off to open the box, I assume.) On another thread this was called:

Type 92 MG in 7.7 x 58SRmm calibre, Hotchkiss design.

Is that the correct designation? Is it a clip or a stripper or a ?

1/2 of the lettering is still on the seal and there is also an inscription on the side of the box. If I could photograph these, is there someone who could tell me what they say? Or maybe someone already knows what they say?

I don’t have a Jap MG to shoot these in and I don’t really collect Jap stuff so is this worth anything or should I just toss it?

Ray

Hi,

I am not an expert on Japanese ammunition but I do have Elk’s new book! Kind of like spending the night at a Holiday Inn.

First a photo of the Type 92 heavy machine gun. I think they called these woodpeckers because of the sound they made when fired. You can see where the stripper/magazine fit into the side of the MG.

The cartridges in question are identified by Elk’s as 7.7mm Type 92 Ammunition (for the Type 92 Heavy Machine Gun, 1932, page 56.

The Type 92 derives its name from the Japanese era in which it was introduced. Thus Japanese Era date Showa 7 is Koki year 92 which is actually circa 1932. The 7.7mm Type 92 is a semi-rimmed cartridge and uses the same case as the 7.7mm Type 89. These cartridges used a color coding system of marking the case mouth to designate the functional purpose of the round such as ball, AP, incendiary, tracer, or explosive.