KTW Handgun Bullets

Hello everyone, I would assume this has been answered before but I cant locate it in the archives. I was wondering the history and purpose of the green flatnosed bullets commonly found in 45 ACP ammo. I believe they were made by a company named KWT. I have heard that they are armor peircing? What calibers were these bullets available in? Who actually loaded and made them? Are they still available? Does anyone have a photo of a sectioned bullet? Again thanks for educating me and others.

Do a Forum search for “KTW,” the correct initials sequence, or “Kopsch” or perhaps “cop-killer bullets.” These have been fully covered on this Forum in the past. I have not tried any of those searches, but they should net something. I am not good with the search engine on this Forum, with most of the words I try bringing up over half of every thread ever on here. “Green Teflon” might be another search description.

If you or others don’t find anything, I am sure you will still get an answer here. If nobody can find it, I will provide some information, but it is a long story, and no sense repeating it here if we don’t have to.

John Moss

Posted these couple months back. KTW, in almost every caliber. Brass? projectile. Box is 9 mm, cutaway .357 mag

Here are some common KTW loads, mostly all coated in Green Teflon, although later around 1980 when the KTW company was purchase by North American Ordnance, they apparently switched the coating to a Nylon substance of the same color. the black one is a .44 automag, and some automags were also in green:

The ogives above are mostly examples of the later style from NAO, and some of the earlier ogives were more pointed, with darker green coating. There were allot of bullet shapes, headstamps, and case types.

The KTW story is a long one. I have 8 pages of text, and 8 pages of photos in my book, and that’s just the basics. The old thread that was a big KTW thread in this forum is here: