Markings on DM51 Crate + additional photo requests

Hi everyone, I’ve come across what I think is a picture of a DM51 crate that holds 90 Grenades.

I’m not an expert by any stretch of the imagination on these things but I think the factory code is MEN which is Metallwerk Elisenhütte GmbH, I was under the understanding that the DM51 was made by Diehl BGT Defense? Is this correct?

Additionally would anyone happen to have more pictures of these DM51 crates?

Thank you for your help in advance.
J

why 90 grenades, it clearly says 2500 cartridges

I assumed it was grenades because right under the 2500 Is DM51 and that wouldn’t make any sense for it to be 2500 grenades.

Also the weight lines up with it being 90 Grenades in there.

Lastly I’ve seen they come in trays of 10.

from the MEN website

Incredible, well that’s a mistake I have made. Thank you for clearing that up.

Would you happen to have any pictures showing a DM51 grenade crate? The only pictures I seem to find are just the trays that hold 10 grenades in each.

NotAny1, maybe you got misslead by the designation DM51?
Like in the US military model designations are repeating for many different line items.

Here the box you are looking for.

Source: internet.

Thank you very much Mr.EOD.

If I’m reading the information correctly this crate contains 30 Grenades, The Factory code is DN = Diehl and the production year is 2000?

J

No year given in this lot number back then but here the data on manufacture is given separately.
See the GEF 3.76, this means made in March 1976.

Very fantastic information thank you once more.

Would you perhaps have a picture of a crate a bit newer? like after 1999?

J

German model numbers are not unique, the 5 in this case indicates the 5th model. The last digit indicates the nature, for example 8 is used for training (DM58, for example)