Mauser cartridges with wooden bullets, are they reloads?

I bought this at a local gun store. I thought they might be factory, but the headstamps are all different. The clip is marked P 25.

What’s up with the black primers and what do the 8,9, and 10 mean on the last three? I know the one with the eagle is Polish. The P316 is WW2 German.

Any more info I could get about these would be great.

Also, the bullets themselves measure .310.

The wooden bullets certainly look the same as the wooden bullet blanks that I have. The first case appears to have been reloaded based on the primer and crimp marks.

The German headstamp include factory where the case was loaded, the case material, year of loading and either the month of loading or the lot number. I think the lot number was introduced in the mid 1920s but don’t quote me on that. I’m no expert on these.

I believe the first HS is as follows:
P = Polte
S* = Brass (* indicates the brass was recycled).
57 = Lot number
36 = 1936

I’m unsure of the others, especially the “I07” code on the last three.

A combination of a roman numeral (I to XXII) for the steel mill supplying the basic case-metal, a lower-case letter for the plating agency and an arabic numeral (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15 or 17) for the steel-analysis, identifies a copper-plated steel case

On your case(s)

I o 1

I = steel mill : Friedrich Krupp A.G., Stahlwerk, Maschinenfabrik, Thomaestr. 100, Essen
o = plating agency : Eduard Hueck Metallwarenfabrik, Lüdenscheid, Westfalen
1 = steel analysis: C : 0,15 - 0,22 % / Mn : 0,4 % / Si : 0,12 % / P : 0,03 % / S : 0,03 %

P316 is the manufacturer of the case: Westfälische Metallindustrie A.G., Lippstadt, Westfalen

and 8 9 and 10 are the Lotnumbers

1 Like

Hi,
I have absolutely no knowledge about any kind of ammunition outside of shotshells.
But always interested in learning.
You give the numbers 1 to 17 as being an ID of the steel analysis.
Why are there no numbers 5, 7, 13, 14 and 16??

Regards rené