My thoughts on cartridge collecting thus far

Some of you may recall that I am new to cartridge collecting. It was not that long ago that I knew absolutely nothing about the hobby, or ammunition for that matter. But it has been a fun few months and I have learned a lot (relative to nothing)!

When I started out all I knew was that I liked cartridges. They fascinated me. But I had no sense of direction as to what I wanted to collect. As I examined the specimens that I had on hand (not yet an official collection) I discovered that I had an abundance of .38 Special cartridges. So, I figured that my specialty would be .38 Special headstamps, but that I would continue to collect anything else I came across.

So far that has worked; I have about 80 different .38 Special headstamps. My collection so far is 186 cataloged cartridges (photo below) and I have probably another 50 that I need help identifying or still have no way to organize. I have finally acquired a caliper and I hope to begin cataloging more very soon.

Some random thoughts on my experience thus far:

• I want to begin collecting large caliber handgun cartridges (.500 S&W, .50 AE, etc.) but they don’t fit into my storage trays so they are on hold until I get larger trays.

• Also on my list to start collecting is the cartridge which goes with the beloved M2 Machine Gun: the .50 BMG. Again, I have no way to store them yet, but the real roadblock is cost. Most of my cartridges thus far have been acquired for the cost of shipping or for just a few dollars, so $5 or more per cartridge is high for me.

• Just mentioning my new hobby sometimes elicits donation offers. A friend of mine at work gave me some old paper shotshells that belonged to his father after I told him that I collect. Also, my extended family seems very eager to pull a sample or two out of each box of ammo they have at home. This works great for me!