N. Korean Tok?

I recently received this fired brass 7.62 Tokarev case of undetermined origin. I’m trying to get more info on it, but its headstamp looks very North Korean to me. Any thoughts or comments? Anyone have a similar or related example? Other known dates are 80, 85, and 87.

I am not an expert in foreign languages but what I do have for charts, I do not see anything that looks like this symbol in Korean. It does look like the same character (but upside down) that is like an A in Chinese. (Basically our letter Y). My guess is Chinese but this is just a guess. Anyone out there fluent in Chinese or Korean?

Possible of course, but it is very different from any current PRC headstamp style.

Jon - that looks pretty much like the Korea consonant “S, Sh” (siot). From my copy of the
alphabet, it is missing only a very tiny little hook going off to the left at the top of the letter.
Very possibly such a tiny nuance might be left off this type of metal stamp (bunter). It is not
uncommon in Japanese Seal writing, for instance, to simplify characters in making metal or wood
stamps.

If not that, then I have no clue. I seriously doubt that it is Chinese due to headstamp style.
That is, if the numerals are correctly identified as standing for 1986 and are not from some
different calender. The format, though, is pretty typical of North Korean ammo, isn’t it?

I agree. The shaping of the numbers also hits me as more Korean than Chinese.

I agree as well the casing and all does not resemble any modern Chinese manufacture…Just the character does not ring a bell. It could be as John says…a version of a Korean marking for simplicity.This is a new headstamp to me.

This letter maybe either Korean or Chinese. But it can also mean number “7” in Korean. I work in a company which is like mini-UN, so I can refer to native speakers in languages I did not know existed.

Jon & Vlad - I did not look up Korean numbers. I should have. I have not verified that “7” but