Name for Cartridge Collecting

After decades of organized ammunition collecting there is still no scientific name for it.

Collectors of stamps, coins even string have scientific names for their efforts.

Suggestions ?

Ammuphilia ? i.e. “crazy about ammunition”. Some of us are not crazy but this is subject to definition.

Ammunology ? i.e. “study of ammunition”. More collectors collect it than seriously study it.

COLLECTING ?

??

[quote=“DrSchmittCSAEOD”]
More collectors collect it than seriously study it.
??[/quote]

Yes, a sad observation…

Ordonology?

I dreamed that I have found a warehouse of experimental cartridges, there are thousands of them and in their original boxes!!! I think mine is a disease! “Ammunititis” ¿¿??

I know some of you also have dreamed of something! I’m not alone! hehehehehe !!!

Projectology?

I am a Cartologist who specializes in SAA, I am not an expert in the field of Cartology though I am just a novice.

That’s the best I can come up with.

Richard.

If you follow the logic of other naming systems for collecting such as Breweriana, Militaria, and Philatelia, then ammo collecting might be “Ordnancia”. Else some people just consider it a branch of Militaria, even though that is generally considered to be uniforms, medals, & accessories.

Except there’s a lot of stuff involved that’s not military.

Ballistology? (-ography?)
Cartology?
Ordology?
Ammunology?

• In my opinion there is no need for a “name” regarding a cartridge collector and his hobby. Today there are guys collecting a large variety of door knobs and I don’t know the name for their strange hobby. Liviu 08/19/11

ordophile…

ammosexual…

In French “Pyrothécophile” collector of cartridge of hunting

DOOR KNOBS! You compare our avocation with collecting DOOR KNOBS!

Anyone disagree that this fellow could be a spy for Ladies Home Journal ?

DOOR KNOBS! You compare our avocation with collecting DOOR KNOBS!