Need 8x68S ammo leads

This is my first post here - nice, very informative forum.

I am currently a gunsmith student and have begun planning a rifle build for the school’s “final” project. I chose 8x68S as the caliber and everything was proceeding smoothly until the last month or so. For the life of me, I cannot find any new factory ammunition for this caliber. It is my hope that the membership here can help me locate a source so that I may secure at least a box (20 rds.) for test-firing the rifle during the various building stages.

I would prefer to use RWS factory ammo but am in no position to be choosy and would be happy with Hirtenberger, Blaser, or DWM. While this project is far from being complete, I do not want to be scrambling for ammunition at the last minute.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Pinotguy–You would be better served to post your request on some of the many shooting oriented Forums online. Our Forum is directed at collecting cartridges, not shooting them. I am sure that many of our members could supply 1 or 2 rounds, but in general, our members do not sell by the box full. This is not an especially rare cartridge and I would think it should be available.

I coulda’ swore I saw a box on auction arms or gunbroker.com just the other day. A quick search turned up nothing. I have a box of ten, from RWS kicking around here somewhere, but they really aren’t for sale. You may have to resort to handloading, which means that you will kindly have to take your query elsewhere… like here maybe: huntingtons.com/cases_rws.html

Check with the guys over on the forums at www.accuratereloading.com
They may know of a source, or worst case be able to provide you with data (something that we are not allowed to do on this site).