New Ammunition - beginner question

I am collecting ammo mostly to learn about therounds that are fired from guns I am interested. However; I am getting interested in the variation in ammo itself.
As a beginner I can build by buying vintage rounds. What I was wondering is where can one get modern/new ammunition. Buying it new by the box isnt to hard but all I want is a couple examples. Is there a good source/dealer of modern ammo?

thanks
Alex

Hello Alex. There is a sticky thread at the top of the General Discussion area that describes places to purchase collector ammo, some of them sell new singles: http://iaaforum.org/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=17197 Ammo-One and Collectibleammunition.com are known for selling some new cartridges. Some collectors also keep lists of available cartridges they have and could email you.

Welcome Alex to collecting ammunition & to the IAA forum.

Make two lists. One of the cartridges you have and another of what you know you are looking for. This will help prevent you from buying duplicates. Your want list can also be circulated to sellers if the don’t have or “do” lists you can buy from. And if you run across something new you can add it to either list.

Not to scare you off but if you specialize in one field (say rim fire, or military, or sporting or auto pistol or revolvers, or wildcats, or ?) you can easily find things you did not have on your lists, and different loading’s of things on your lists (shot, tracer, proof, blank & so on) so be prepared to set a limit or not set a limit. (storage / display space figures here too)

You will also find monetary limits in every field as some case types or perhaps variations are quite rare (perhaps only 5 are known?) or just ‘sexy’ so everyone wants one but only a limited number exist to drive up the price.