New collector with a cartridge question (38-40 kynoch shot"

Hello, My name is Kyle. I am new to cartridge collecting and have about 50 cartridges, Most are common rounds. Im just trying to see how many differents calibers/chamberings I can come up with from friends and family. I just ordered a few cartridges online aswell. I was at a gun show a while back and bought a box of junk for $10. Inside the box was a few older, odd shells, but one I cannot find any info on. The headstamp reads " KYNOCH 38-40". But, it is a shotshell cartridge crimped at the top. Any info would help. Thank you in advance for your responses and the informative site as I’m sure Ill be using it frequently.

-Kyle Sawyer

Howdy Kyle & welcome to the IAA forum.

You might also want to join the IAA for the Journal (and it’s past issues) which also offers lots of very interesting information about the wonderful world of ammunition in all its many various forms & uses.

Regarding your Kynoch headstamped 38-40, it could be either a shot loading or a blank. The weight should tell you, or perhaps if gently shaken you can feel the shot move or hear it. A bulleted load (lead or jacketed) for a comparison weight would also be of help (the case maker doesn’t likely mater) as the shot loading would likely be the same or heavier while a blank should be much lighter. This said, it seems you already feel it’s a shot load. My, somewhat educated, guess is that it would be loaded with #8 size shot, at least that is what I usually see on uncommon British shot boxes in 44 WCF or 38-40 boxes.

A number of companies made shot loads, for the XL chambered guns (usually, but not always, found with a long paper sabot usually with the paper color noting the shot size. Red, red with a black band, green, white, yellow & blue are the common colors, plus the normal length for Marlin’s, Colt Lighting’s, Winchesters & others.