New Member - Date of old UMC cartridge box?

I’m a new member. I recently acquired an old UMC .44-40 cartridge box (see photos below). Can anyone help me date it?

Although UMC began making the .44-40 shortly after Winchester came out with their Model 1873 rifle, this box must be newer because of the references to Marlin, Savage, Stevens, and Remington on the bottom.

I would appreciate it if someone could at least give me a date range.

I was hopeing someone else would answer this because I am certainly no expert on this subject but I’m gonna give it a shot because as a beginner myself, I know how frustrating it can be when questions go unanswered. Hopefully some of the really knowledgeable folks will see this and give us both some education.

In Journal #469 Dick Fraser did an excellent article on interpreting Remington ammo box date codes. Some of his illustrations show early UMC boxes because Remington absorbed UMC, so to speak. His earliest box, which is nearly identical to yours, is listed as Pre-1911 but it has the red ball with UMC logo while yours has an oval with U.M.C. and Trade Mark on the left side. So I am speculating that your box goes back to around 1900, before or after a bit.

Hopefully someone who really knows will pipe in so don’t be discouraged. There are some really smart folks with tons of knowlege on here!

Like Shotmeister I was waiting for someone who could cite chapter and verse on stereo plate codes & date this to a month and year, but no go on this so far. Thus I’d add that the reference to Savage among the makers whose arms are guaranteed with this ammo puts the “not before” date at 1895, the year Arthur Savage introduced the first version of his lever-action rifle. Jack

Thanks guys.