Newbie Collector Goes to his first gun show - any advice?

I am going to my first gun show since I decided to collect ammo. I think that I want to stay in the sub .50 BMG(ish) range as far as collecting. Beyond that I am a newbie and I don’t really have any idea what to look for, or what I should focus on. Or should I focus at all?

What about prices? What does a single, relatively common round sell for? Anything I should be aware of?

Any thoughts?

From my limited experience, I have found gun shows a poor place to find collectable ammunition. Now days, promotors frown on having loose ammo around a gun show. I have found some nice whole box deals from time to time though.

In my part of the country, I have better luck at flea markets, the bigger the better.

My rule on prices has always been stay around what current prices run(new ammo). Sometimes I pay more but only if I know its special. I’ve had sellers try to sell a bandolier of WWII ammo for twice the price of new or recent ammo, claiming the shortage of ammo right now. I smile, wish them luck and walk away shaking my head.

I strongly recommend you look over the web sites of collectable dealers, especially IAA members, to get an idea of prices. Also, they are a reliable source for pieces you might need, or want, too. The ones I have dealt with have been more than fair and reliable. Visit auction sites with caution…GREAT CAUTION!

I’m sure some of the older hands at this will chime in but I say go to the show, enjoy yourself and keep you wallet deeeep in your pocket!

Walk slow, look for little out-of-the-way boxes and cups of mixed dirty old ammo. If you find a dig-box of stuff, as what he’ll take for the whole thing. Should be CONSIDERABLY less than the per round price. Then you can search through your treasures at leasure. That’s half the fun.

IMHO, gunshow prices are “retail +” IOW “tourist pricing” for the rubes.